Filter – The Very Best Things: 1995-2008 (2-LP, Mercury Swirl Vinyl)

The brainchild of singer/songwriter/guitarist Richard Patrick (a former touring musician for Nine Inch Nails), Filter shot to dizzying heights in the ’90s with their unique blend of industrial rock and post-grunge metal. FIlter continues to put out distinctive new music year after year, including The Algorithm in 2023. The Very Best Things: 1995-2008 celebrates the first chapter of the band’s distinctive career—from their Platinum-selling 1995 debut, Short Bus, through 2008’s Anthems for the Damned.  

The Very Best Things blends sought-after rarities with the group’s biggest hits, including their breakthrough single “Hey Man Nice Shot” (1995) as well as “Take a Picture” and “Welcome to the Fold” (both from 1998’s Title of Record), plus “Where Do We Go From Here,” from 2002’s The Amalgamut. The collection also touches upon the group’s many soundtrack contributions, including “(Can’t You) Trip Like I Do” with The Crystal Method (from Spawn), “Jurassitol” (The Crow: City of Angels), and a cover of Harry Nilsson’s “One” (The X-Files film)

Now, The Very Best Things makes its vinyl debut. The 2-LP set will be pressed on limited edition Mercury Swirl vinyl exclusively for Record Store Day.


NOTE: RECORD STORE DAY DOES NOT SELL THE RELEASES. THERE IS NO WEBSITE WHERE THESE CAN BE PRE-ORDERED. Please use the Participating Store Search to find a store near you and contact them directly to find out how they’re participating and celebrating Record Store Day.  Stores in the US may choose to sell releases online starting Sunday, April 21.

The Very Best Things: 1995-2008 Tracklist:

Side A

1. Hey Man Nice Shot

2. Welcome To the Fold (Single Edit)

3. Jurassitol

4. (Can’t You) Trip Like I Do (with The Crystal Method)

Side B

5. Take A Picture (Radio Edit)

6. Soldiers Of Misfortune

7. Where Do We Go From Here (Single Edit)

8. Dose

Side C:

9. I’m Not The Only One

10. Skinny

11. One

Side D:  

12. The Best Things

13. The Only Way (Is the Wrong Way)

14. Thanks Bro